1. Save 40-80% on great soccer jerseys. Shop today at BigSoccer Shop!

Best Cleat for a Defender

Discussion in 'Soccer Boots' started by DeathLeprechaun, Jun 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DeathLeprechaun

DeathLeprechaun New Member

Hi Guys,

I'm a Sophomore in High School and getting ready to prepare for the fall season. I'm 15 and my feet have pretty much stopped growing, so my parents have finally decided to let me get a nice expensive pair of cleats. But, this purchase has to last me through senior year, so I want the best pair possible.

I play left fullback. I am a starter and play most of the game. However, this was when I played JV as a freshman. I'm unsure whether I'll make JV or Varsity, so assume that if I make JV I play all the time and get much less playing time on Varsity.

I'm mainly focusing on two cleats: The Nike Total 90 III FG and Nike Mercurial Vapor III FG or whatever the heck the long names are. Basically, the Vapors and 90's.

Which pair would be better for a defender? Reading around descriptions for the Vapors, it focuses on "speed" and "getting past defenders". I'm already the fastest kid on my team (seriously) and I have no need for getting past defenders... these cleats are sweet, but would they be the best?

The Total 90s emphasize on power and kicking the ball hard-- something that I need. Not to say my kicks are bad, but a little extra distance surely wouldn't hurt.

Price isn't a factor here. My parents have allowed me to get whatever is best, within reason (that means no diamond studded kangaroo leather shoes witih built-in lazers).

So what pair of cleats should I get? I also play indoor and spring soccer (not for school) so this pair would have to be very durable. Or, does the pair not matter at all and I should get whatever I want?

Thanks. =)

2. Old US Keeper

Old US Keeper New Member