DC United vs Houston 1st Leg ECF (R)

Discussion in 'Referee' started by shawn12011, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. shawn12011

    shawn12011 Member+

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Location:
    Reisterstown, MD
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    United States
    Salazar had a good game up until he missed that DOGSO. Nice playing advantage calls. In full control of the match but he missed that one. Not just the arm on Agusto, which depending on is angle can be missed, but the scissors action could not be missed. Hopefully he Keeps calling the game the way he called the rest of it.
    JayRockers! repped this.


  2. stangspritzring

    stangspritzring Member+

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    NorMD
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    United States
    I'm surprised AR2 didn't spot it, as he had a perfect angle for both, but maybe he was deferring to Salazar? I was surprised by the no call with Salazar following just behind the play.
  3. Kempa

    Kempa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Washington Suburbs
    Club:
    Sao Paulo FC
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you saw the beginning of the second half, there was an explanation on why it should not have been DOGSO.
  4. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    And he emphasises no call. Waving both arms.

    FWIW Peter Walton says it's not DOGSO due to the defender coming back into the play, if it's a foul.

    Thx,

    Jay!


  5. NC Soccer United

    NC Soccer United BigSoccer Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Club:
    Flamengo Rio Janeiro
    Last highlight showed Hainault wasn't the last defender involved in the play. Per USSF directive, that play didn't meet the 4 Ds.
  6. ChelseaSounder

    ChelseaSounder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Club:
    Seattle Sounders
    Country:
    United States
    It was at least a foul. The other defender being close enough to make a play is dubious. They got this one wrong
    tog repped this.
  7. tog

    tog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Location:
    Seattle
    Completely. Any defenders in the area were arriving late, at best. And even if you could argue that it wasn't DOGSO, you simply can't argue that it wasn't a foul at all.

    Salazar just seemed to want to get to halftime and figured if he called nothing, he wouldn't have to deal with any DOGSO distinctions. Pretty weak.
  8. GlennAA11

    GlennAA11 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    With any due respect to Peter Walton, that is complete and total BS. That particular defender was never going to be back in the play before a shot occurred. He's just covering Salazar's butt. And the fact that the guy who should have seen red happened to score Houston's first goal was just more salt in the wound.
    BTFOOM repped this.
  9. Freestyle2000

    Freestyle2000 Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2000
    Location:
    LA
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    --other--
    I'm biased, but a question: The supposed "last defender" on the non-call looked like he was way too far out to the side to be involved in the play. For DOGSO, does the last defender just have to be closer to the goal, like offside, or do they have to stand a chance of actually defending the play?

    It's all moot, because Salazar blew the call anyway, but I was surprised that the head official said that DOGSO would not have been in play.
    MCF101 repped this.
  10. shawn12011

    shawn12011 Member+

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Location:
    Reisterstown, MD
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry but it is opinion that the defender could get back into position. It is the same as passive offsides in my book. I don't feel that the defender keeping it from being a DOGSO was passive.
  11. andymoss

    andymoss BigSoccer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Club:
    Manchester City FC
    Country:
    England
    Send off or nothing. Salazar went with the latter.
  12. sitruc

    sitruc Member+

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    It was something. I can't argue it was nothing. I don't agree, but I can argue it was not a send off.
    stangspritzring and JayRockers! repped this.
  13. aek chicago

    aek chicago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    AR2? Its in the opposite quadrant, right in front of Salazar, and the contact happens BETWEEN the players, obstructing the ar's view.

    They're going to have a hell of a time selling an ar's obstructed view call 40 some yards away, IF he raises the flag.
  14. aek chicago

    aek chicago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    IMO, it could be one of three things:

    1) Foul on the DC attacker for the forearm shove which preceded the takedown. DFK Houston.

    2) Foul on Hainault and yellow card caution for tactical foul, IF Salazar determines the DOGSO criterion are not met. DFK DC United.

    3) Foul on Hainault and red card send off for DOGSO. DFK DC United.

    What it can't be is nothing...way too much going on there.

    IMO, if Salazar didn't want to send off or even card Hainault he could have called a foul going out. Calling nothing was the worst possible alternative.
  15. ManiacalClown

    ManiacalClown Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Country:
    United States
    Watching the replay again, the attacker's push with his right arm is a bit stiffer than it looked on my phone earlier. Perhaps Salazar felt that the two players both fouled the other around the same time and it wouldn't be fair to award a free kick to either team. Augusto pushed, Hainault pulled, and the end result was the two players hitting the turf.
  16. superdave

    superdave Member+

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 1999
    Location:
    Raleigh
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you have to be a complete moron to buy that explanation. I can think of other reasons why it might not be DOGSO, but the notion that the RB was going to stop the shot is completely retarded.

    In the words of Detective Munch, when you lie to me, lie to me with respect. I AM NOT MONTEL WILLIAMS!

    Anyway, what happened was a textbook example of a referee choking under pressure. He was afraid to make the big call. He didn't want to decide the game, but in making that decision, he decided the game anyway. And as the game played out, well, if it was DOGSO, he probably cost DC the tie.
    sitruc, JayRockers! and BTFOOM repped this.
  17. BTFOOM

    BTFOOM Member+

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Fixed it for you, period.

    Nowhere in the rest of the soccer playing world is that (a) Not a Foul and (b) Not a RED for DOGSO.

    All the rest is just sucking up to cover for the ref's blatant bad miss. Horrible (and yes, Tie changing).
  18. JayRockers!

    JayRockers! Member+

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Who's Montel Williams?

    Thx,

    Jay!
  19. BTFOOM

    BTFOOM Member+

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    MD, USA
    If you are even a little serious about this, all I can say was: Were you watching the same game as we were? Not even close to DCU foul.

    While I can't believe that #2 is real, at least if that was the answer, we could debate it.

    Your last part (in BOLD) is the essence of what happened here. I can't wait until later in the week when MLS tells us that the call was wrong and he should have called it. (sorry, can't keep a straight face on that one - we all know the league office will NEVER say anything of the sort, even though it is clear as day).
  20. aek chicago

    aek chicago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    I think this is EXACTLY what happened...and it was the least sellable alternative.
  21. aek chicago

    aek chicago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    No, I'm not serious, I'm pulling your leg...and I'm deaf, dumb and blind also.

    I thought this was a REFEREE forum?
  22. aek chicago

    aek chicago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Afraid to make the big call? Ricardo Salazar?

    This is the same guy who called a handling pk in the 82nd minute of a tied US Open Cup Final and then called keeper encroachment in KFTM in the same match.

    Missing a call is one thing, being scared to make it quite another.

    Good God, find something else....
  23. NC Soccer United

    NC Soccer United BigSoccer Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Club:
    Flamengo Rio Janeiro
    Is this the Ref Forum?? I keep clicking on Ref forum and it keeps taking me to DCU fan forum.
    wguynes, nsa, jarbitro and 1 other person repped this.
  24. Erocker

    Erocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Club:
    CD Jalapa
    Seems like Mr. "It's a red card anywhere else in the world" is working on his comedy routine tonight! Tonight I'm working on my "It's a red card anywhere else in the world" routine.
  25. BTFOOM

    BTFOOM Member+

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Never said anything about you being deaf :sneaky:.

    Yes, this is a referee forum, and I'm quite familiar with it.

    My comment was that there was no way that the foul could be called on the DC forward.

    I will stand by that comment and say that anyone here who would be playing the role of assessor would NEVER agree that the foul was by that attacker. That's why I asked to make sure you were watching the same game.

Share This Page