1. Save 40-80% on great soccer jerseys. Shop today at BigSoccer Shop!

Fieldturf - It burns! It burns!

Discussion in 'Player' started by spejic, Jul 18, 2006.

Moderators: appleCORR7
  1. spejic

spejic Cautionary example

Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    For the first time in my life I am playing regularly on Fieldturf fields. The problem is that the local 90 degree weather, the field gets very hot and my feet are very uncomfortable quickly. Has anyone found a way to shield themselves from the heat?

2. reticent

reticent New Member

i just started playing on fieldturf and noticed that my black sambas leave black scuff marks on the green turf! anybody else have that problem? should i just get white sambas, or does anybody have any recommendations?? thanks in advance.

p.s. yeah fieldturf gets hot doesn't it!

3. Fulham Fan

Fulham Fan New Member

4. jvillefreelance

jvillefreelance New Member

Just wear indoors or turf shoes on the surface. At first I didn't think this would work, I thought my indoors would slide way too much, but honestly they didn't, and my feet didn't heat up nearly as much as when I wore my cleats, plus turf messes up my cleats, so wearing $30 indoors is less cost effective if/when they fall apart in comparison to my $200 cleats.

Also, they black scuff is just the rubber treatment getting knocked onto the surface of the turf, its not a problem.

5. Reis710

Reis710 New Member

me and my dad work for a company that puts in field turf and yea during the summer its ********ing hot. you need gloves to put it in.

6. Turk from Pigs Eye

Turk from Pigs Eye New Member

Red Bull's Danny O'Rourke had to come off for a few minutes during last Friday's game at the Meadowlands because his feet were burning. They showed him on camera and Shep Messing described what they did. They watered down his socks/feet, smeared big gobs of vaseline on the bottom of his socks, and he changed shoes. I'm not sure what kind of shoes he changed out of or into.