1. Save 40-80% on great soccer jerseys. Shop today at BigSoccer Shop!

Firefox 3.5

Discussion in 'Technology' started by nsa, Jul 2, 2009.

Moderators: Stogey23
  1. nsa

    nsa Member+

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 1999
    Location:
    Notboston, MA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Country:
    United States
    Seems much faster at the startup.

    Nothing else really obvious except that some Microsoft plug-ins aren't compatible. :rolleyes:
     


  2. Kryptonite

    Kryptonite BigSoccer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 1999
    Location:
    Columbus
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard that the newest flash (10.0.22.87) may have problems with YouTube videos, or perhaps it's just the newest builds (for testing purposes, you can download 3.6alpha1 if you know where to look.)

    The thing I HATE about the new firefox is the way they've lumped the bookmarks together. The old version had "today" "yesterday" "three days ago" "four days ago" and so on and such.

    The new version has "today" "yesterday" "last 7 days."

    I think the logic was that if you didn't know when you visited a certain page, it makes it easier to find.

    Yet, I had absolutely ZERO problem finding various websites in 3.0 by using the search function.

    I'm a person who likes to keep the URL bar as simple as possible. I'm sure a lot of the "community thread" people (BSSM, B@W, Panic thread, etc.) are the same way. If i'm on page 15 of a thread, I don't like to see links to pages 2-7. As such, I would delete everything over five old.

    Firefox took away that function. :mad:



    And for people that like the IE Tab plugin...don't expect it to work much longer. There's Coral IE Tab and IE View Lite as alternatives, but I think one of them is also about to break.
     
  3. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    It's still a veeeeeery slooooooow and memory eater browser in general. I'm sticking with Maxthon 2. Much much faster and light in general.
     
  4. Footy Magoo

    Footy Magoo Audaces fortuna iuvat

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    ♫ Flugelville

    Many peoples' experience is different. It is not slow for me. Does it use more memory than I would prefer - probably, but it's not a big issue. If you are happy with Maxthon and the IE engine, it is irrelevant what other people think about other browsers. You are happy and that is what matters. My limited experience with Maxthon a few years ago was unimpressive. Plus I do not wish to use the IE engine unless I am using windows update. Cheers ;)
     


  5. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    After so many years using Maxthon I still wonder what the problem is with using the IE engine and why so many people complain about that. A few years ago it was already much faster than Fireslow. Now it's even better.
     
  6. nsa

    nsa Member+

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 1999
    Location:
    Notboston, MA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Country:
    United States
    I'm betting that you can tweak Fx to show whatever you want in history however you want it.




    Never heard of Maxthon, but if it depends on M$IE, I'll stay away. :D
     
  7. Footy Magoo

    Footy Magoo Audaces fortuna iuvat

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    ♫ Flugelville

    That's funny. :D :rolleyes:
     
  8. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Really? Why?

    Not only Maxthon uses Trident, many browsers do, it doesn't mean anything. Firefox uses Gecko, which was Netscape's engine. By the way, the next Maxthon3 brings Trident And WebKit, the engine of Chrome. Gecko/Firefox is by far the slowest and worse. Everyone knows it and it's a real problem for the Mozilla people.

    No it doesn't at all depend on Microsoft. It is a chinese company and it is actually financed by Google primarily. Still, I don't see what problem some people have with Microsoft, they make the best Operating Systems and some other good programs at good prices. Linux is a joke, unusable even when it is for free. So for me there is no problem with Microsoft at all. They have the right to make money out of their good products. After all, people choose Microsoft for a reason and not Linux that is for free.
     
  9. nsa

    nsa Member+

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 1999
    Location:
    Notboston, MA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Country:
    United States
    The only slowness I experienced with Fx was at startup. Once running I saw no difference. Now, 3.5 kicks off quicker than IE.

    I spent years writing and debugging desktop and notebook firmware seeing the shortcuts and bad habits in the M$ code and dealing with the "do-as-I-say, not-as-I-do" coding rules. I use Windows because of the hardware choices, not because of the wonders of the OS.

    I'll check out Maxthon, but I've really gotten to enjoy the breadth of add-ons that Fx has to offer.






    Did Per$ian Pu$$y move to $pain? ;)
     
  10. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    I do notice it slower in almost any sense. Start up and the rest. Version 3.5 loads pages faster but that is all. For the rest I still find it slower and with a very little practical design (extensions, skins, updates, restart all the time...).

    Indeed many people who are in the computers business complain about Microsfot. As a user I can only compare it with Linux or Mac, and I prefer Windows for many reasons.

    That is true and unbeatable. Eventhough I can do with Maxthon anything that Firefox offers via extensions that I like, for many people that offer is too short in any other browser. I have used Firefox extensively and tried lots of extensions, but at the end I only keep a few of them and all of them are offered in Maxthon too. Let's say I only use Maxthon because it is faster for me and because it has some options that I use a lot and Firefox doesn't offer. I wouldn't mind using any other browser, just enjoy to try all of them and Maxthon is the best for my taste. Firefox is my second option when something doesn't work well in Maxthon such as in video donwloading.
    What Per$ian Pu$$y? I don't know what you mean, sorry.
     
  11. Footy Magoo

    Footy Magoo Audaces fortuna iuvat

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    ♫ Flugelville
    Would this bother anyone using the IE wrapper known as Maxthon? I'll answer my own question ... probably not all users :eek::

    [FONT=Verdana,Sans-serif]Jul 7, 7:07 AM (ET)[/FONT]

    [FONT=Verdana,Sans-serif]SAN JOSE, Calif. (AP) - Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) has taken the rare step of warning about a serious computer security vulnerability it hasn't fixed yet.
    The vulnerability disclosed Monday affects Internet Explorer users whose computers run the Windows XP or Windows Server 2003 operating software.
    It can allow hackers to remotely take control of victims' machines. The victims don't need to do anything to get infected except visit a Web site that's been hacked.
    Security experts say criminals have been attacking the vulnerability for nearly a week. Thousands of sites have been hacked to serve up malicious software that exploits the vulnerability. People are drawn to these sites by clicking a link in spam e-mail.
    The so-called "zero day" vulnerability disclosed by Microsoft affects a part of its software used to play video. The problem arises from the way the software interacts with Internet Explorer, which opens a hole for hackers to tunnel into.
    [/FONT]
     
  12. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Why should we worry more than the users of other browsers? All of them have security issues. And why do you call Maxthon an IE wrapper as if it was a disdain? I use the one which is faster and has all the options I use most, I don't care for those nerdy interpretations of software.
     
  13. Footy Magoo

    Footy Magoo Audaces fortuna iuvat

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    ♫ Flugelville

    You didn't disappoint me. :)
     
  14. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    What an idiot you are.
     
  15. Footy Magoo

    Footy Magoo Audaces fortuna iuvat

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    ♫ Flugelville

    You didn't disappoint me with that comment either. :rolleyes:
     
  16. fdp

    fdp Red Card

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Recently I have been getting this popup when browsing with Firefox.

    [​IMG]

    I never click on "OK", instead I press Ctrl Alt Delete which brings me to the Windows Task Manager. From there I end the task. Thing is, it closes my browser and tabs in the process.

    I've never clicked on "OK" in fear of it unleashing some sort of virus on my computer.

    Anyone else encounter this problem? Any solutions?
     
  17. Bernabeu

    Bernabeu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    Have you tried all of these?: http://www.google.es/search?q=are you sure you want navigate away from this page

    This may be interesting but I can't find the solution anywhere either. This is a thread where the assh*les talk about how to make the annoying pop-up script. http://www.hotscripts.com/forums/ja...ing-you-sure-you-want-navigate-away-page.html . At least it doesn't look like a virus.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. royalstilton

    royalstilton New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Country:
    United States
    I have an i7 CPU and 6GB of RAM in an Dell Studio XPS. I downloaded Foxfire 3.5 yesterday. It works.
     
  19. JeremyEritrea

    JeremyEritrea Member+

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Takoma Park, MD
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone else seeing memory leaks in FF 3.5?

    It starts up pretty fast, but after using it for a while (like more than an hour or so) I see it using up huge amounts of memory in Task Manager - right now it's running at nearly 1GB of memory - around 800 MB.
     
  20. Toon³

    Toon³ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Club:
    Fußballclub Wacker Innsbruck
    I get pretty big memory leaks, it takes forever to start up and I've had to reinstall it a couple of times because of crashes and errors. If Chrome was more widely supported I wouldn't even have it installed.
     
  21. Kryptonite

    Kryptonite BigSoccer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 1999
    Location:
    Columbus
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Country:
    United States
    Right now, i'm at 144,796K.

    Are you running a lot of add-ons? Perhaps one of those is faulty. Check those for updates, or disable them individually and see if that fixes the issue.

    Mine takes about 5 seconds to start up.
     
  22. Ecclesiastes2003

    Ecclesiastes2003 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Forgive the bump, but I didn't feel like starting a new thread for this. Does anybody else's Firefox keep crashing all the time? Mine does. Every time I update to the new version, I think the problem is fixed, but alas, no luck. I am ready to jump ship. Are there any other browsers with the same or better security and privacy as Firefox? If so, I'm there.
     
  23. Kryptonite

    Kryptonite BigSoccer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 1999
    Location:
    Columbus
    Club:
    Columbus Crew
    Country:
    United States
    Update each extension and try again. Any better?
    Start in safe mode. Any better?

    Disable extensions one by one and maybe the problem goes away. It could be an extension problem.

    "Crashing all the time" doesn't really help.

    What may help is downloading the installer, un-installing the old Firefox and installing it fresh. (If you follow the directions, your preferences will be saved.)

    And if you use the "Nightly Tester Tools" extension, you'll be able to log your incidents and then you can post them at forums.mozillazine.org. No registration required in at least one forum.
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. JeremyEritrea

    JeremyEritrea Member+

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Takoma Park, MD
    Club:
    DC United
    Country:
    United States
    It's so bad that I've stopped using it. I currently use Google Chrome and Internet Explorer 8.
     
    1 person likes this.
  25. Boundzy

    Boundzy BigSoccer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Country:
    United States
    Firefox is stable for me. If it's not working for you, try Google Chrome, IE 8, or Opera.
     
    1 person likes this.
Moderators: Stogey23

Share This Page