I was at a boys u-12 game the other day and the goalie for one team accidentily picked up the ball outside of the box. Most of his body was within the penalty box but he reached across the line and picked it up. The referree blew the whistle and called a penalty kick, because half of the goalies body was in the box Is this correct? What are the FIFA rules on this? I thought it should be at least a direct free kick at the spot of the handball and if it was intentional (how could it not?) it would be a straight red (?). To add a bit of context, the goalie was not really under any pressure from the other team so looked more like an accident rather than a 'professional foul' type handball. Thanks!