Player re-creates perceived dive

Discussion in 'Referee' started by socref79, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. socref79

    socref79 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007


    Thoughts? I saw a similar clip from a professional game (possibly AC Milan) and it's likely this is where snot-nose got it from.
    soccersubjectively repped this.


  2. BlackBart

    BlackBart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Ref blew the call and the player is letting him know.
  3. camconcay

    camconcay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm guessing the ref may have know he missed it as he didn't caution blue for any of the three separate displays of dissent. Not sure I would have allowed either of the 2 re-creations after allowing him to blow off steam verbally right after the call
  4. IllinoisRef

    IllinoisRef Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Club:
    Flamengo Rio Janeiro
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'd card the little bugger...
    ...right after I stopped laughing!!


  5. meyers

    meyers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    W. Mass
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Country:
    United States
    I'd have just laughed at him.
    soccersubjectively repped this.
  6. fairplayforlife

    fairplayforlife Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Country:
    United States
    I think this is a case of embellishment rather than a stone cold dive. I see contact but it has the classic "flop" look to it.
    DudsBro repped this.
  7. refontherun

    refontherun Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It's got to at least appear you are making a play for the ball little buddy.:rolleyes:
  8. campbed

    campbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    Really? You can tell there was no contact? I sure can't.

    What he blew, for all to see, was not cautioning blue for Dissent. I'm not putting up with that type of public dissent from U10 to Adult. (BUT, given the age, fine, age appropriate AC for the first, YC for any that follow)
  9. Law5

    Law5 Member+

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    Beaverton OR
    Good time to call on the coach to help his "injured" player who isn't able to stand up. ;)
    dadman, MrPerfectNot and campbed repped this.
  10. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    . . . .and I'm sure you wouldn't be too busy watching the game to see that he was ready to come back on for a bit . . . ;)
  11. jayhonk

    jayhonk Member+

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Well, then he blew two calls. Because the first one was clearly a flop.
  12. robmag

    robmag Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    This was a 100% foul and it puzzles me how some of you don't see it.
    Not dealing with the clown acting stupid is the real problem here.
    Stop the game, call him over and give him good AC. If he does it again - YC.
  13. JimEWrld

    JimEWrld Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Club:
    Chicago Fire
    Where did you see a foul?
  14. MOREFFIN

    MOREFFIN Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I see potential for a foul, definitely some embellishment by black, warning to black and YC to blue after the second tuna dive. Might take a second or few to deliver the yellow so I could do it with a straight face though. That's pretty funny!
  15. robmag

    robmag Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Blue player makes no play on the ball, hits the black player with his legs (knees), takes both of his legs.
    How is that NOT a foul?
  16. IllinoisRef

    IllinoisRef Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Club:
    Flamengo Rio Janeiro
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm not 100% sure but I believe there was contact on the upper leg/hip area.
  17. sjquakes08

    sjquakes08 Member+

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Country:
    United States
    When I watch this on fullscreen, I definitely see a foul. You can see and hear the contact. I'm not even sure there was any embellishment, sometimes the young'ns just go down easy. I'd give some AC for the first blue dissent and a yellow for any additional.
    robmag repped this.
  18. SA14mars

    SA14mars Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas
    Club:
    FC Dallas
    Country:
    United States
    There is contact but hard to tell if its trifling or actually a foul. If I see a kid do what the kid in black did, I'll let play continue but chew him out first chance I get. Second is a YC. Just because there's contact doesn't mean it's not embellishing.
  19. robmag

    robmag Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    So if you not sure you let the play continue because it may have been embellishment?
    Just because there may be embellishment doesn't mean it's not a foul.
    Look at the ball, it left the area and only then blue player made a challenge.
    Late, no contact with the ball, hit opposing player's legs...
    It's a foul. Call it.
  20. Bubba Atlanta

    Bubba Atlanta Member+

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Yep, Atlanta
    You can call the foul and talk to the fouled player about embellishment (and then be prepared to explain to the other coach why you lectured the kid for thirty seconds and then let him have the free kick - been there, done that).
  21. Chas (Psyatika)

    Chas (Psyatika) Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    Club:
    Crystal Palace FC
    Joonas Kolkka did it against Liverpool during Crystal Palace's last Premier League run.



    The related videos shows a second one

  22. camconcay

    camconcay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Embellishment and dive (simulation) are related but different - a dive to me is no contact but theatrics applied to deceive while embellishment has contact, possibly a careless foul but the fouled player adds the theatrics, trying to get a harsher penalty or to make sure the foul is called.

    The second clip above shows the referee talking to the player recreating (and embellishing the recreation) the original - in the original youth clip the player reacts to the call, then falls twice with no word or action from the referee except a hand wave at the end for him to move on I guess.
  23. R.U. Kiddingme

    R.U. Kiddingme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Location:
    iowa
    What get's my goat is the parents laughing and even applauding the kids' theatrics, that's probably why he did it a second time. If I saw my kid doing that I would have to restrain myself from running out on the pitch and pulling him from the game myself.
    Important points to remember when judging simulation, players usually don't simulate when they have a good opportunity, it's almost always after they loose the ball, AND in a position on the field where a FK would be beneficial.
    Notice on the second professional video how the attacker clearly has been dispossessed and chooses to act reprehensibly.
    Thankfully such behavior is rare at youth levels. Perhaps we should tell the adults to start acting like children!
  24. Eastshire

    Eastshire Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    The discussion of whether or not there was a foul is moot. I stand with R.U. The player's reaction is unjustifiable even if the foul was clearly wrong. Do we really think the referee had any credibility left after allowing such an open display of dissent go unchallenged?
  25. jayhonk

    jayhonk Member+

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Good point. The answer is "No".

    For us weekend refs, this is the take-home message here. And it is easy for me to see myself getting into this spot. Everything happens pretty quickly, and each event builds up just a little worse than the previous.

    Small collision--probably a foul. Then the foulee dumps himself on the ground.
    The ref ignores the enhancement because it was preceded by an actual foul, so he doesn't say anything.
    The fouler's verbal dissent is ignored, because there is an element of truth to it.
    The first flop happens quickly after the verbal, maybe out of his vision as the Ref repositions downfield.
    Then the player drops the second time. Now, the player is flopping on the ground like a dolphin and the Dads are laughing loudly.
    Sir, they may not be laughing at you; but, they sure as heck aren't laughing with you.
    Here, the referee must act.
    But he just smiles and waves his hand.

    At this point, the referee is hoping against hope that the next 10 minutes are quiet, so everyone forgets about his shredded credibility. Because, if there is any question about a call, these dads are not going to go quietly into the night. Not to mention both coaches are loading up for bear.
    dadman repped this.

Share This Page