1. Save 40-80% on great soccer jerseys. Shop today at BigSoccer Shop!

Question: Throw-in Failure to Respect Distance.

Discussion in 'Referee' started by meyers, Nov 7, 2012.

Moderators: IASocFan, MassachusettsRef
  1. meyers

    meyers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    W. Mass
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Country:
    United States
    Question that came up between myself and a couple refs the other day. Player takes a throw-in, properly performed, , however the defender jumps up to try to block it, ball comes in play. Ref whistles and decides to give a YC for FRD. What would the restart be?

    We discussed doing throw-in over. But I'm thinking IFK since play was stopped to give YC. Had the defender prevented the player from performing the throw-in, i.e. the ball never came in play, then I could see doing a throw-in. One thing that was brought up though was on a DFK and they block the kick, and you stop play to give the YC, you give them another DFK from the infraction. Couldn't find anything specific to this in the ATR or I&G. Anybody got anything on this?
     


  2. camconcay

    camconcay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    We spoke about this at a recent training event - the correct restart "by the book" is IFK however it was also brought up that if you decided the defender encroached before the ball crossed the line into play (even though whistle was after that) you could justify rethrow. I would go IFK in most cases as it would be better for the offended team and provide a bit more punishment for a stupid play by the defender.
     
  3. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009

    ATR 13.3 directs that FRD results in a retake of a free kick. ATR 15.7 says that the distances should be managed the same as for a FK. I think the inference in both a FK and a TI is that he FRD prevents the ball from being properly in play and requires a re-take. (I would have thougt it was express in the ATR, but I don't see it eitehr.)

    (An argument could, I suppose, be made that the the IFK would be better than the TI -- but hte same argument could be made on FRD on an IFK (or on an DFK in the defensive half).)
     
  4. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    And how could it be FRD if the defender did not encroach before the ball crossed the line into play??
     


  5. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Actually, the I&G is squarely on point: "Play is retarted with a throwin." (pg 130)
     
  6. meyers

    meyers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    W. Mass
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, must have been looking at something else. Thought he said I&G. o_O

    Well that answers that question.
     
  7. camconcay

    camconcay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    If the defender did not encroach then there is no infraction, if the defender is within 2 yards, throw in is attempted (quick restart) and the defender makes a move to interfere, you can call it and the ball may not have crossed the line into play
     
  8. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    I think you're missing the point. You wrote "if you decided the defender encroached before the ball crossed the line into play (even though whistle was after that) you could justify rethrow." If the encroachment was not "before the ball crossed the line into play," then there is no encroachment.

    In any event, this distinction is irrelevant. The "by the book" answer you posted is incorrect, as the I&G specifices that the restart is a TI.
     
  9. jayhonk

    jayhonk Member+

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Since the 2 yard rule was added, I am a bit unclear on what is allowed for a defender located at 2.1 yards.
    1a) Jumping Jacks?
    1b) Jumping Jacks at 5 yards?
    2) Standing at 2.1 yards, jumps and heads the ball as it flies by?
    3) Standing at 2.1 yards, sticks out his leg and kicks the ball?

    Personally, I thought that when they added the 2-yard rule, they should have removed this bit:
    If an opponent unfairly distracts or impedes the thrower:
    • he is cautioned for unsporting behavior
    LotG (p.49)
     
  10. socal lurker

    socal lurker Member+

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    I think this is easy -- and it's really no different from a FK at 10 yards.

    Jumping jacks is ridiculous, serves no point to the game, and is an unsporting effort to distract the thrower [or kicker]. I'm going to stop it.

    Pursuing the ball when thrown (your 2 and 3) is just part of the game, just as if you were at 10 yards on a FK. Nothing wrong with playing the game.

    (Put another way, I suppose, the twoyard rule defines what it means to unfairly impede the throw.)
     
Moderators: IASocFan, MassachusettsRef

Share This Page